NABERS Energy Ratings
The Benchmark for Commercial Property

Get your next building energy rating, and improve it!

The threshold for mandatory Commercial Building Disclosure when selling or leasing property is dropping to 1,000 square meters. EQ esco helps you comply with legal obligations and assists you to get the right energy rating for your building. Commercial buildings with 5-star NABERS ratings attract  long-term, trustworthy tenants - an energy rating is your first step.

Here are the key energy ratings for commercial buildings:


The National Australian Built Environment Rating System (NABERS) is a 6-star rating scale that measures the environmental performance of buildings. It uses your utility bills and converts them to a rating from 1 to 6 stars for your building, tenancy or home. A NABERS rating is valid for 12 months from the time of certification.

Read more about NABERS here

Tenancy Lighting Assessment

A Tenancy Lighting Assessment (TLA) is a survey of your existing lighting system and any lighting control system. The TLA provides a measurement of power density for your given space and compares this to industry benchmarks. A TLA is required as a part of a Building Energy Efficiency Certificate.

Building Energy Efficiency Certificate

A valid BEEC is required for commercial office spaces over 2,000 square meters that are being sold, leased or subleased, to meet legal obligations under the Building Energy Efficiency Disclosure Act 2010. The BEEC consists of two parts; a valid NABERS rating and a valid Tenancy Lighting Assessment. The NABERS rating must be for the base or whole building whilst the Tenancy Lighting Assessment must be for the area of the building that is being leased, sold or subleased.

Read more about BEEC here.

Note: from 1 July 2017 the threshold for BEEC will reduce to 1,000 sqm.

Energy Rating Enquiry